Category: Crowle Council

October 7, 2017

Highways Maintenance in the 19th Century

Until 1862 the Highways within Crowle Parish were maintained by the Vestry Committee. The Highways Act 1835 had given the committee the authority to collect a rate to maintain and keep the local roads in order. A surveyor was appointed by the committee to be responsible for this. The Highways Act 1862 enabled Justices of the Peace of a county to divide the county into Highway Districts […]

March 11, 2017

Crowle Councils and Administration

Before 1894 Crowle like other small towns and villages had a Vestry committee to manage their local affairs. In addition, to parochial activities, such as electing church wardens the Vestry committee, which met in the vestry of the church, also carried out many of the functions we now see performed by local government. Vestry committees were not set up by a particular statute and had […]

May 22, 2016

Mayors of Crowle Town Council – (Crowle & Ealand Town Council)

1974 – 75 A. Hill 1975-76 J.J. McAnaney 1976-77 Miss A. M. Cranidge 1977-78 E. Chapman 1978-79 Ken Sherwood 1979-80 Brian Chafor 1980-81 Brian Hastings 1981-82 A. Byiers (G. Byiers) 1982-83 – Alan Wise (Ann Wise) 1983-84 – Tony Metcalfe (Janet Metcalfe) 1984-85 – Tony Metcalfe (Janet Metcalfe) 1985-86 – Harold Osbourne (Ruby Osbourne) 1986-87 – Mrs Agnes May. Moore (Mr B. Moore) 1987-88 – Mrs Agnes May […]

May 22, 2016

Miss Alice Cranidge – First Lady Mayor of Crowle

Epworth Bells – October 7 1977 Alice Cranidge name that will live on . . Specially contributed “Don’t write too much: I’m only plain Alice Cranidge, you know, and I haven’t done anything spectacular.” ONLY Alice Cranidge herself can be granted the indulgence of such devaluation, and she took the option at the end of the only formal interview the writer had ever had with […]

January 1, 1970

Crowle administrative information

Place CROWLE County Division Lindsey Wapentake Manley Poor Law Union Thorne (WR Yorks) Urban / Rural District Council Crowle UDC (1894-1936), Isle of Axholme RDC (1936-74) Registration District Thorne (W R Yorks) Parliamentary District Northern Division (1832-67), North Division (1867-85), West Lindsey Division (1885-1918), Gainsborough (1918-74) Deanery (CofE) Manlake (until 1857), Isle of Axholme (1857-) Hamlets Ealand Remarks Eastoft was formed as a separate civil […]